Skip to content

A Sales Rep. Welcomes Our Customers to a New Year!

February 7, 2013

By Brian Sears, ChemSpec Sales Representative

Welcome, 2013! Since this is my first blog, I’ll take a quick minute to introduce myself: my name is Brian Sears, and I’m a sales rep here at ChemSpec, Ltd. I manage accounts from Minnesota to South Carolina (and almost everywhere in between). I married my wife, Nicole, almost 7 years ago this summer, and we have two “energetic” young children.

As we start off the new year I am proud to be celebrating 5 years in the rubber industry with ChemSpec. It’s easy for me to remember my time here, as I started just a few days before my first child was born. What an exciting time that was! And what an exciting time it has been throughout the last 5 years; both in raising children and in working in the industries that we serve.

Over the last 5 years, this job has not only taught me a lot about sales/distribution, but also just how small the world and global market really are. Examples, you ask? I started here at the beginning of 2008, not knowing what was just around the corner. The downturn was quick and painful, many companies in our industry were forced to shutter or make significant cuts in personnel. As a new hire, this was quite unnerving, as I’m sure you can imagine. But what I found interesting was the effect that our struggles here in the U.S. had on countries around the world. I soon found out just how much the rest of the world relies on our success.  And in turn, in certain ways we rely on the rest of the world for our success. I mentioned the term “global market” above, and it’s interesting to see how much more that term is used today than it was 5 or 10 years ago. Then again, maybe I just wasn’t paying attention back then.

Other examples: the Tsunami/Nuclear crisis in Japan, the Summer Olympics in China, the European debt crisis, and the war in the Middle East. These events all had their own effects regionally, but who would have ever imagined the effects that would be felt here in the U.S. I never would have until I started in this business. The fact of the matter is that all of them, and I’m sure there are others I’m leaving out, had some type of impact on the way we do business. Be it increased pricing due to tight supply, material unavailability, or simply a downturn in business caused by less exporting.

What’s next you might ask? I’m not sure; I don’t think anyone really is. We seem to be starting off the year well. Business looks strong and ChemSpec continues to grow with new customers, new suppliers, and new employees. The U.S. market in general is much better than it has been in the last several years (although that can be argued either way I suppose). The concern in Europe is real though, as well as with our own government. You never know what could be lurking around the corner.

So what can we do? The same thing we have been doing all along I suppose, as it has taken us this far. Working hard, continuing to grow and diversify our business, and keeping our customers’ needs at the forefront above all. For without our customers, we wouldn’t be here.

From → Blog

Comments are closed.

